10 Tiny Changes I did (and you should do it too) that Made My Body Thank Me!

small changes for health

“Healthy Snacks, Healthy Food, Healthy blah blah blah…….!”

Health! The word itself drives more and more people crazy these days, you get to see this everywhere right from billboards to your mobile apps and ad’s, they are everywhere!

You might keep on wondering and might at times feel bombarded with the word health but the word is omnipresent due to a reason. I am sure I am not the first person to tell you this and you probably are already aware of these things: Stress, a busy lifestyle, impurity in food items and generally our food eating habits have contributed to the phenomenal growth of the health care industry. Still don’t believe me?

These statistics of the healthcare sector alone will tell you why we hear the word “health” every where!

Indian Health Care Industry
Growth of the Healthcare Sector!

According to IBEF  “The overall Indian healthcare market is worth around US$ 100 billion and is expected to grow to US$ 280 billion by 2020 at a rate of 22.9 per cent.

This actually shows how unhealthy we are and its high time we started concentrating on our health to reduce our dependence on medicines or other products.
People have already begun to realise the value of staying fit and healthy that’s one of the reasons why the market is showing such a tremendous growth rate, they are eating healthy products and trying to make changes but largely with little results hence the over dependence on gyms and fitness trainers.

Little do we know that just making some small changes or taking small steps can make you feel healthy, fit, active and happy!

I too follow a few things which did not make much of a difference to my lifestyle but a significant change happened with these small changes which I incorporated in my lifestyle.

Here are the 10 small changes to stay healthy and active.

  1. Take the Stairs

    Now this is a no brainer, you might have heard this from a lot of people but climbing the stairs alone helps you increase your fitness levels significantly.

    Here’s a fun fact when athletes practice indoors due to bad weather outside, climbing stairs is an integral part of their training regimen to increase strength and stamina. Need I say more?

    Climbing Stairs

  2. Park your vehicle far from the main door

    This is a small hack but you realise that if you park your bike, car or cycle far away from the main gate of your building or house, you will have to walk that extra distance every time you want to use your vehicle. Isn’t it?

    Parked Vehicle

  3. Cleaning your home regularly

    Now this has dual benefits, your mom or your wife will be the happiest and you will be even more happier 😉 while providing you the much needed exercise

    cleaning

  4. Using Public Transport

    You may scoff at the public transport or my suggestion but just imagine yourself in the following : Running to catch the bus on time, standing and waiting, walking too and fro to the bus stop. Helps right?

    Mumbai Best Bus

  5. Walk Meetings

    Now this is an interesting one, while discussing something, I try and get my team to walk around the office campus and discuss an issue or any point, unless its absolutely discreet, while walking and conducting our meetings. Takes time getting used to but its worth it.

    walk

  6. Lunch Break Walks

    Now this helped me a lot, instead of staying huddled up in the cosy office in lunch hours, I started taking 15 min walks around my office building after lunch and was surprised to see the after effects with this small change. A must try!

  7. A Bottle of Water, 1st Thing in the Morning

    Yes, this works. Period. Try drinking a glass of water 1st thing after you get up in the morning instead of reaching out for your phone. Gradually, increase the intake to a litre if you can and then see the difference.

    If you are trying to lose weight, warm water with lemon juice first thing in the morning works like a charm.

    Glass of Water

  8. Reading the Back of Packaged Food Products.

    Increase your Vocabulary  while staying fit! This is one exercise, my mom used to make me do so that i started reading new words and boy! how has it helped me. That’s not all, it helps me know what the food items contain and if i find something suspiciously unhealthy it goes straight back to the racks. Eat healthy, Think better 😛

    Food label

  9. Getting up from your office desk every two hours.

    No matter how long I work on my desk, I have made it a habit to get up from my desk every two hours, look away from my computer, do some basic stretches , walk around a bit and get back to work. Has helped me, worth a try!

    office desk

  10. The Most Important of all, Sleep!

    Warning: This might affect your social life! But, your “friends” will understand if they really are your friends. Every known science stands by the fact that the human body needs at least 6-8 hrs of sleep and if deprived, it leads to health complications. So, the choice is yours.

    Baby Sleep

These are some of the small steps which has helped me in the long run to take care of my health apart from the usual time I take out to work out and I am sure it will help you too but one important thing to understand here is that “Rome was not built in a day”, so again with these small changes you need to also be patient as you will not see instant results.

Do share your thoughts or any other small things that you do to take care of your health in the comments section below.

“I am joining the Saffolalife #ChhoteKadam initiative in association with BlogAdda and follow these small steps for a healthy heart.”

Leave a Reply

